Used-car-maxxing

i need a car to drive to an internship i start in a few weeks
max cost: $5k

how can i get my hands on a reliable, used car

dealerships are scum so im trying to avoid 'em

> current idea
im thinking of making flyers and posting them around retirement homes and wherever old people live and hopefully be able to get a bargain from a boomer kicking the bucket

(also, i read the pinned used car guide already; im new to DA, i generally stick to DA, DA, DA, /x/ for cool, esoteric images, and /misc/ whenever there's something "happening")

backstory (for those who have minimal curiosity):
my parents want me to take the fricking bus and train (1hr 30 min commute vs 35 min by car) because they want to spend $17k on a new driveway (bc our current one is a bit ugly but its actually fricking fine, no holes, just very coarse and some oil stains from previous cars, but the current cars cover them anyways), they knew beforehand they'd need to buy me a car around the same time theyd need to pay for this driveway so it was a selfish ass fricking decision, FRICK YOUR DRIVEWAY.

To anyone with legitimately helpful advice, a million thanks.

Mike Stoklasa's Worst Fan Shirt $21.68

Nothing Ever Happens Shirt $21.68

Mike Stoklasa's Worst Fan Shirt $21.68

1. 2 weeks ago
    Anonymous

Congrats on the internship, what is it?
    I'm going to NY to start June 3rd

• 2 weeks ago
      Anonymous

thank you anon; its not NYC, nor NY however, i do have some friends that will be interning in NYC, i'd prefer not to say for anonymity reasons but if you dropped some other way to contact you (discord maybe) i i could get you in touch, or dont, i understand privacy concerns

https://i.imgur.com/DuF9He6.png

Just go to a dealer.
      Probably something decent for that money